home / about us / awards / contact us / feedback
List of SupportersDonate

People Behind

Binalakshmi Nepram

Binalakshmi Nepram was born in the state of Manipur in India's Northeast Region. She is an author-civil rights activist who is spearheading work on making women-led disarmament a movement and meaningful issue. In 2004, Bina co-founded India's first civil society organization dedicated to conventional disarmament issues, the Control Arms Foundation of India. And in 2007 in order to help thousands of women who survived gun violence in her home-state, Bina launched the Manipur Women Gun Survivor Network.

Bina was awarded a Ploughshares Fellowship in 2004, and Ashoka Fellowship in 2011, WISCOMP Scholar of Peace in 2006, among others. Bina has authored two books, South Asia's Fractured Frontier: Armed Conflict, Narcotics and Small Arms Proliferation in India's Northeast and Meckley, a historical fiction based on the conflict in Manipur and an edited volume titled India and the Arms Trade Treaty. She was also awarded the international Sean MacBride Peace Prize in 2010, CNN/IBN 2011 Real Heroes Award and her team Manipur Women Gun Survivors Network was given INDIAN OF THE YEAR AWARD 2011 for her work in the Northeastern Region.

Reena Mutum

Post graduate in English Literature, University of Mumbai. Worked with a monthly journal "Sailor Today", Mumbai (2000 to 2002). Presently, she is the Coordinator of Manipur Women Gun Survivors Network.

Sinam Ongbi Chandrajini


Lata Devi




Edina Devi


designed by PurpleSand